Considering Audiences

I think about this a lot, and I find it hard to come to any solid conclusions.  I’m writing ultimately for myself.  Because these stories are in me, and need to get out.  I’m writing for my younger self who was always a bit mature for any given age, and for my older self that is still daydreaming about dragons and the mighty damsels who might dare challenge them.

Order & Entropy is…well, I’d like to think a complex, and textured work.  It is in my heart a living breathing world which contains almost all the things ours does for good and ill, and quite a few things it doesn’t.  It will over the course of the many planned (and unplanned) books, side stories, centuries if not millennia of history touch on all those tricky things humans get up to.  Both the ones we do in private, that are ever so shameful, and those things we see fit to commit quite publicly, like wage wars, commit atrocities, and proclaim hate speech.

I think that said it is at very least a PG-13 literary endeavor, even if perhaps much of the first book might be passible in the eyes of most for a younger audience – well, unless they look too close at subtext, and are very particular about certain things.  I would hope it would largely appeal both to an older young-adult audience, and to adults – while being appropriate in my view for each.  This isn’t Game of Thrones (though some historical tales may get quite brutal, and there is a war coming…some day,) but it also sure as heck isn’t Harry Potter.  Parental Guidance is always a good thing – well – within reason…

Everyone is different of course, we all have our own world views.  I grew up in a household where – well, for some reason Disney films generally skated, but that seemed an odd aberration given the belief that ~ all depictions of magic in entertainment were basically devil worship.  Further so many people seem quite ok with quite a lot of violence, but how dare you even allude to sex being a thing that happens, people do, or that might happen between someone other than a husband and wife.  Then on the other side some are very sensitive about violence, which I consider an all together more understandable position…but it is a thing that happens, and conflict for better or worse is both interesting, and more importantly part of any plausible world.

There will be love, there will be hate, there will be childishness (particularly among adults, petulant things that they are,) and woven among the Power, Prophecy, and Politics there will be Passion, and all the consequences, dangerous dances, and foolish mistakes it leads to.  Just not a lot of tedious details about the how that might threaten to drown the story in the weeds.

I bring this up not as any particular response to something coming up in the next chapter or two, just thoughts I figured I’d share.  Reasons why I have decided to chase the elusive beast of self publishing, rather than tangle with the web of mixed blessing that could come from a more traditional route.  I aim not to be traditional after all.

Leave a Reply

